BigBrotherAwards 2007

Wolfgang Schäuble was not given an award in 2007. After all, he is not single-handedly responsible for the “Stasi 2.0”, and his profile should not be raised even further by an award. Among those that did receive awards were Deutsche Bahn (German Railways), two ministers in the Federal Government and the Federal Prosecutor (Generalbundesanwältin),

News

  • The latest BigBrotherAwards gala was held on 5 May 2017.
  • All award speeches have been published on the German and English “awardees” pages.

Awardees 2007

Business: Deutsche Bahn

The BigBrotherAward 2007 in the “Business” category goes to Deutsche Bahn AG (German Railways PLC), represented by its CEO, Hartmut Mehdorn, for their systematic endeavours to make anonymous travelling practically impossible: abandoning ticket counters, ticket machines not accepting cash, personalised ticket selling on the internet, birth date and photo as mandatory items for buying the discount pass (BahnCard), ubiquitous video surveillance, an RFID chip in the all-inclusive one-year ticket (BahnCard 100) without customers being informed, and much more.

Consumer Protection: Hotel chains

The BigBrotherAward 2007 in the “Consumer Protection” category goes to the international hotel chains in Germany, Marriott, Hyatt and Intercontinental (representing many others), for their collection and centralised storing of critical personal information of customers without their knowledge. This includes drinking and eating habits, use of pay TV, allergies, all private and professional addresses, credit card data, complaints, all kinds of preferences – everything is kept.

Technology: PTV

The BigBrotherAward 2007 in the “Technology” category goes to PTV Planung Transport Verkehr AG, represented by Dr Hans Hubschneider, for their system for individual rating of car insurances with the so-called “pay-as-you-drive” technology, i.e. a device that records routes and driving behaviour in a car and transmits these data to the insurance company.

Politics: Peer Steinbrück

The BigBrotherAward in the “Politics” category goes to the Federal Minister of Finance, Mr Peer Steinbrück, for introducing a life-long Tax ID number for all taxable persons, which bears an eerie resemblance to the unconstitutional concept of a personal code number.

Communication: Brigitte Zypries

The BigBrotherAward in the “Communication” category goes to the Federal Minister of Justice, Ms Brigitte Zypries, for a bill that will introduce the retention of all telecommunications connection data in Germany. With this bill, the Minister is deliberately ignoring jurisdiction by the Federal Constitutional Court, which had ruled in 1983 in its census verdict that the collection of non-anonymised data for undetermined or not-yet-determined purposes is unconstitutional.

Government Authorities & Administration: Monika Harms

The BigBrotherAward in the “Government and Administration” category goes to Germany’s Federal Prosecutor (Generalbundesanwältin), Monika Harms. She receives the BigBrotherAward for her anti-terror measures against opponents of the G8 summit in May this year, particularly for systematic postal surveillance in Hamburg and for her instructions to collect and preserve body scent samples from G8 opponents suspected of militancy.

Trends

The BigBrotherAwards highlight individual cases – but often it is easy to see common phenomena or themes. The jury has been asking itself which themes are “on the rise” currently. Here is one where we fear exactly that to be happening.

Notes of Disapproval

With more than 500 nominations, the BigBrotherAwards jury has had to manage a record workload this year – a kind of data mining for data protection and civic rights. It is therefore all the more important to point out that “below” the laureates, there are many cases of illegal activities, data greed, but also sheer impudence and carelessness. To make sure that they don’t go completely scot-free, we briefly introduce some of the “unlucky losers” that didn’t quite make it to the “podium of shame”.

About BigBrotherAwards

The BigBrotherAwards highlight privacy and data protection offenders in business and politics, they have consequently been called “Oscars for data leeches” by the French paper Le Monde. BigBrotherAwards are an international project. 19 countries have so far given these awards for dubious practices.

The German awards are organised and held by  Digitalcourage. Among the co-organisers are the German Association for Data Protection (Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz, DVD), International League for Human Rights and the Chaos Computer Club.

BigBrotherAwards 2007

Wolfgang Schäuble erhielt 2007 keinen Preis. Schließlich ist er nicht allein für die Stasi 2.0 verantwortlich und soll durch den Award nicht noch bestätigt werden. Auszeichnungen erhielten hingegen die Deutsche Bahn AG sowie zwei Bundesminister.innen und die Generalbundesanwältin.

Aktuelles

  • Der Termin für die nächsten BigBrotherAwards steht fest: Am Freitag, 12. Mai 2017 um 18 Uhr vergeben wir wieder die „Oscars für Datenkraken“.
  • Karten für die nächste Verleihungsgala gibt es im Vorverkauf im Shop und an der Abendkasse.
  • Die Preisträger.innen der BBA 2016 finden Sie auf der Jahresseite 2016

Die Preisträger 2007

Wirtschaft: Deutsche Bahn

Der BigBrotherAward 2007 in der Kategorie „Wirtschaft“ geht an die Deutsche Bahn AG, da sie systematisch anonymes Reisen mit den Mitteln des faktischen Zwangs unmöglich macht: Auflösen von Fahrkartenschaltern, Automaten ohne Bargeldannahme, personalisierter Kauf im Internet, Abfrage des Geburtsdatums und Zwangsabgabe eines Bildes bei Bahncards, flächendeckende Videoüberwachung und ein RFID-Chip in der Bahncard 100 ohne Kunden zu informieren u.v.m.

Verbraucherschutz: Hotelketten

Der BigBrotherAward 2007 in der Kategorie „Verbraucherschutz“ geht an die internationalen Hotelketten in Deutschland – Marriott, Hyatt und Intercontinental (stellvertretend für viele weitere) – für die Erfassung und zentrale Speicherung äußerst persönlicher Daten ihrer Gäste ohne deren Wissen. Dazu gehören Trink- und Essgewohnheiten, Pay-TV-Nutzung, Allergien, alle privaten und beruflichen Kontaktadressen, Kreditkartendaten, Sonderwünsche und Beschwerden – alles wird festgehalten.

Technik: PTV

Der BigBrotherAward 2007 in der Kategorie „Technik“ geht an PTV Planung Transport Verkehr AG für ihr System zur individuellen Berechnung der Kfz-Versicherung mittels eines so genannten „Pay as you drive“-Systems, also einem Gerät, das Fahrtroute und Fahrverhalten aufzeichnet und an die Versicherung meldet.

Politik: Peer Steinbrück

Der BigBrotherAward 2007 in der Kategorie „Politik“ geht an den Bundesminister der Finanzen, Herrn Peer Steinbrück, für die Einführung einer lebenslangen Steuer-Identifikationsnummer (Steuer-ID) für alle Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

Kommunikation: Brigitte Zypries

Der BigBrotherAward 2007 in der Kategorie „Kommunikation“ geht an Bundesjustizministerin Brigitte Zypries für den Gesetzentwurf zur Vorratsdatenspeicherung. Mit diesem Gesetzentwurf soll in Deutschland die Vorratsdatenspeicherung von Telekommunikations-Verbindungsdaten eingeführt werden. Die Justizministerin ignoriert damit bewusst die Rechtsprechung des Bundesverfassungsgerichts, das bereits 1983 im Volkszählungsurteil festgelegt hatte, dass die Sammlung von nicht anonymisierten Daten zu unbestimmten oder noch nicht bestimmbaren Zwecken mit dem Grundgesetz unvereinbar ist.

Behörden & Verwaltung: Monika Harms

Der BigBrotherAward 2007 in der Kategorie „Behörden und Verwaltung“ geht an die Generalbundesanwältin Monika Harms. Sie erhält den BigBrotherAward für ihre Antiterror-Maßnahmen gegen Gegner des G8-Gipfels im Mai dieses Jahres, insbesondere für die systematischen Briefkontrollen in Hamburg und die Anordnung, bei Gipfelgegnern Körpergeruchsproben aufzunehmen und zu konservieren.

Tadelnde Erwähnungen 2007

Mit mehr als 500 Nominierungen hat die BigBrotherAward-Jury in diesem Jahr Rekordarbeit geleistet – Data Mining für Datenschutz und Bürgerrechte sozusagen. Umso wichtiger ist deshalb der Hinweis, daß es auch „unterhalb“ der Preisträger viele Fälle von Rechtsbruch, Datengier, aber auch Dreistigkeit und Sorglosigkeit gibt. Um diese nicht ungeschoren davonkommen zu lassen, stellen wir Ihnen kurz einige der „unglücklichen Verlierer“ vor, die es nicht ganz auf das „Schandtreppchen“ geschafft haben.

Trends

Die BigBrotherAwards beziehen sich auf Einzelfälle – aber oft lassen sich Gemeinsamkeiten und Themen erkennen. Die Jury hat sich gefragt, welche Themen aktuell besonders „im Kommen“ sind. Hier ist ein Thema, bei dem wir genau das befürchten.

Über die BigBrotherAwards

Die BigBrotherAwards prämieren Datensünder in Wirtschaft und Politik und wurden deshalb von Le Monde „Oscars für Datenkraken“ genannt.  Die BigBrotherAwards sind ein internationales Projekt: In bisher 19 Ländern wurden fragwürdige Praktiken mit diesen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

In Deutschland werden sie organisiert und ausgerichtet von Digitalcourage, Mitveranstalter sind unter anderem die DVD, ILMR und der CCC.