BigBrotherAwards 2011

2011 was the first year when we bestowed the BigBrotherAwards in spring. Due to the move from the previous autumn date, there had not been an awards gala in 2010. A new feature this year was the “Newspeak” award, and the chosen winner was “Mindestspeicherdauer” [“minimum storage period”, a neologism invented by conservative politicians seeking to reintroduce telecommunications data retention after it had been ruled illegal by the German Federal Constitutional Court, and after the previous term “Vorratsdatenspeicherung“ was known to have fallen out of the German public’s favour despite being a euphemism itself]. Further awardees were the German Federal Customs Administration and the chairman of the Census Commission.

The Jury 2011

Rena Tangens & padeluun, FoeBuD e.V., Sönke Hilbrans Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz e.V., Frank Rosengart & Andreas Bogk Chaos Computer Club e.V.,  Dr. Rolf Gössner Internationale Liga für Menschenrechte, Prof. Dr. Peter Wedde Europäische Akademie der Arbeit, Werner Hülsmann Forum InformatikerInnen für Frieden und gesellschaftliche Verantwortung e.V., Martin Haase neusprech.org

News

  • The next BigBrotherAwards gala will be held on Fri, 5 May 2017 in Bielefeld.
  • All award speeches have been published on the German and English “awardees” pages.

Awardees 2011

Workplace: German Federal Customs Administration

The BigBrotherAward 2011 in the “Workplace” category goes to the German Federal Customs Administration. They allow themselves to be exploited by the Russian state as they require German companies to cross-check their employees against Russian anti-terror lists. These lists are compiled by the Russian secret service FSB (formerly KGB) pursuant to a confidential Russian law. In consequence, energy companies, for example, that comply with the obligations of the Federal Customs Administration will subsequently be favoured by GASPROM for energy supplies. There are now several hundred German companies participating in the process.
– Attention: April Fool's Day! – It is not GASPROM that is favouring customers, but European and American companies. To participate in trade facilitation agreements, companies are asked to agree to voluntary security checks. These involve cross-checking employee data against European and sometimes US anti-terror lists, even though this practice is prohibited by German data protection legislation.

Government & Administration: Census

The BigBrotherAward 2011 in the category Government and Administration goes to the chairman of the Census Commission, Prof. Dr. Gert G. Wagner for the all-encompassing population survey in Germany called “Zensus 2011”. He is awarded this negative prize representatively for all those involved. The current census will create profiles from more than 80 million people’s sensitive data, which will be stored in person-related form for up to four years after the deadline of 9 May 2011. Data from population registers, the Federal Employment Agency (Bundesagentur für Arbeit), and federal employers are misused for the purpose without adequately informing citizens, and without any means for appeal.

Technology: Peuterey

The BigBrotherAward 2011 in the category Technology goes to the fashion brand Peuterey, represented by the Düsseldorf fashion agency Torsten Müller. This negative prize is awarded to Peuterey for covertly deploying RFID tags in clothes. These tags are remotely readable, unnoticed by the customer. The tab containing this “spy chip” is imprinted “Don't remove this label”, without any information about the hidden chip. This is a massive violation of the customers' rights to informational self-determination.

Communication: Apple

Another BigBrotherAward 2011 in the category “Communication“ goes to Apple GmbH in Munich for taking their customers hostage by way of expensive hardware and subsequently blackmailing them into accepting a questionable privacy policy. If you buy a fancy new iPhone for a few hundred Euros, you also want to actually use it. Customers have virtually no choice but to consent to about 117 iPhone display pages of conditions and privacy policies – or else they can only use their nifty gadget for telephone calls, at most. In particular, users’ localisation or positioning data is highly coveted by “apps” providers and advertisers for the purpose of personalised advertising.

Consumer Protection: Coupons for books

The BigBrotherAward 2011 in the category “Consumer Protection” goes to the Verlag für Wissen und Innovation (“Publishing House for Knowledge and Innovation”, proprietor: Mr Horst Müller, Starnberg), for skimming pupils’ and parents’ address data in exchange for book coupons. This “publisher” – who has no books of its own to sell in stores, but engages in business relations to a manufacturer of vitamin pills and to financial investment advisers instead – makes schools distribute book coupons to children on its behalf. But to receive these “gifts”, the child's name and the name of at least one parent have to be supplied. The BigBrotherAwards jury finds this practice particularly reprehensible because schools should not be abused as data pools for business interests.

Workplace: Daimler AG

The BigBrotherAward 2011 in the “Workplace” category goes to Daimler AG in Stuttgart for requiring blood tests from their entire production workforce. This kind of modern-day vampirism is practised in disregard of personality rights and mostly without any such need in industrial law. Daimler had originally demanded these blood tests from their administrative employees as well, but this practice has been discontinued. Daimler receive this award as a representative for several German companies that require such blood tests – because the car manufacturer does not consider the blood tests themselves problematic, but the restrictions on medical practice imposed by data protection legislation.

Communication: Facebook

The BigBrotherAward 2011 in the “Communication” category goes to Facebook Deutschland GmbH for systematically poking its nose into people and their relationships, behind the friendly facade of an ostensibly free service. Facebook stores the collected data in the US – access by secret services enabled, deletion disabled. Via its “friend finder” and “mobile app”, Facebook also grabs hold of email addresses and phone numbers from its users’ address books. The “Like” button on external websites, even if it is not clicked, betrays all page visitors to Facebook. With Facebook, a kind of “gated community” is sprawling across the net in which people are monitored every step of the way. It is governed by the whims of a corporation that is earning billions with systematic privacy violations.

Politics: Uwe Schünemann

The BigBrotherAward 2011 in the “Politics” Category goes to The Interior Minister of the federal state of Lower Saxony, Uwe Schünemann (CDU, Germany’s conservative party), for the first proven instance of German police using a miniature surveillance drone at a political gathering. During demonstrations and protest events against the transport of nuclear waste in the Wendland region in November 2010, there have been four instances of “flying eyes” covertly spying on and controlling demonstrators from the air. Such airborne surveillance is highly disputed in legal circles – it can violate personality rights of the affected persons, and it can have highly intimidating and deterring effects on participants of a public gathering.

About BigBrotherAwards

The BigBrotherAwards highlight privacy and data protection offenders in business and politics, they have consequently been called “Oscars for data leeches” by the French paper Le Monde. BigBrotherAwards are an international project. 19 countries have so far given these awards for dubious practices.

The German awards are organised and held by  Digitalcourage. Among the co-organisers are the German Association for Data Protection (Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz, DVD), International League for Human Rights and the Chaos Computer Club.

BigBrotherAwards 2011

2011 waren die ersten BigBrotherAwards im Frühjahr. Durch die Verlegung vom Herbst in den Frühling gab es im Kalenderjahr 2010 keine Verleihung. Außerdem gab es den ersten Neusprech-Award für den Begriff "Mindestspeicherdauer". Zu den weiteren Ausgezeichneten gehörten der Deutsche Zoll und der Vorsitzende der Zensuskommission für die Volkszählung.

Die Jury 2011

Rena Tangens & padeluun, FoeBud e.V., Sönke Hilbrans Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz e.V., Frank Rosengart & Andreas Bogk Chaos Computer Club e.V.,  Dr. Rolf Gössner Internationale Liga für Menschenrechte, Prof. Dr. Peter Wedde Europäische Akademie der Arbeit, Werner Hülsmann Forum InformatikerInnen für Frieden und gesellschaftliche Verantwortung e.V., Martin Haase neusprech.org

Aktuelles

  • Der Termin für die nächsten BigBrotherAwards steht fest: Am Freitag, 5. Mai 2017 um 18 Uhr vergeben wir wieder die „Oscars für Datenkraken“.
  • Karten für die nächste Verleihungsgala gibt es im Vorverkauf im Shop und an der Abendkasse.
  • Die Preisträger.innen der BBA 2016 finden Sie auf der Jahresseite 2016

Preisträger 2011

Arbeitswelt: Deutscher Zoll

Ein BigBrotherAward 2011 in der Kategorie Arbeitswelt geht an den Deutschen Zoll. Dieser lässt sich vom russischen Staat instrumentalisieren, indem er von deutschen Unternehmen verlangt, ihre Beschäftigten mit russischen Antiterrorlisten abzugleichen. Diese Listen werden auf der Grundlage eines vertraulichen russischen Gesetzes vom Geheimdienst FSB (ehemals KGB) erstellt. Im Ergebnis werden etwa Energieunternehmen, die ihre Mitarbeiter nach den Vorgaben des deutschen Zolls überprüfen, von GASPROM bei der Lieferung von Energie bevorzugt. Die Liste der deutschen Unternehmen, die am Verfahren teilnehmen, weist inzwischen mehrere hundert Namen auf.
– Achtung: 1. April – Nicht die GASPROM ist es, die Kunden bevorzugt, sondern europäische und US-amerikanische Firmen. Hier werden im Zuge von Handelserleichterungen Firmen zu freiwilligen Sicherheitsüberprüfungen aufgefordert. Dabei werden auch Daten von Mitarbeitern mit EU- und teilweise auch mit US-Antiterrorlisten abgeglichen – obgleich dies in Deutschland datenschutzrechtlich unzulässig ist.

Behörden & Verwaltung: Zensus

Der BigBrotherAward 2011 in der Kategorie „Behörden und Verwaltung“ geht an den Vorsitzenden der Zensuskommission Herrn Prof. Dr. Gert G. Wagner für die als „Zensus2011“ bezeichnete Vollerfassung der Bevölkerung Deutschlands. Er erhält diesen Negativ-Preis stellvertretend für alle Beteiligten. Mit der aktuellen Volkszählung werden sensible Persönlichkeitsprofile von über 80 Millionen Menschen erstellt, die bis zu vier Jahre nach dem Stichtag am 09. Mai 2011 personenbezogen verfügbar sind. Dabei werden Daten aus Melderegistern, von der Bundesagentur für Arbeit und bundesbehördlicher Arbeitgeber zweckentfremdet, ohne dass die Betroffenen rechtzeitig und ausreichend darüber informiert werden oder dem widersprechen könnten.

Technik: Peuterey

Der BigBrotherAward 2011 in der Kategorie „Technik“ geht an die Modemarke Peuterey, vertreten durch den deutschen Vertreiber, die Düsseldorfer Modeagentur Torsten Müller. Peuterey erhält diese Negativ-Auszeichnung, weil sie Kleidung mit verdeckt integriertem RFID-Chip in Verkehr bringt, der berührungslos auslesbar ist, ohne dass die Kunden das bemerken. Die Applikation, die diesen „Schnüffelchip“ enthält, wurde – ohne Hinweis auf den verborgenen Chip - mit dem Satz „Don‘t remove this label“ bedruckt. Damit wird massiv in die informationelle Selbstbestimmung der Kundinnen und Kunden eingegriffen.

Verbraucherschutz: Büchergutscheine

Der BigBrotherAward 2011 in der Kategorie Verbraucherschutz geht an den Verlag für Wissen und Innovation in Starnberg für das Sammeln von Adressen als Gegenleistung für Büchergutscheine. Der „Verlag“, von dem man im Buchhandel gar keine Bücher kaufen kann, der aber Geschäftsbeziehungen zu einem Vitaminpillenhersteller und Finanzdienstleistern unterhält, lässt Schulen in seinem Namen Büchergutscheine an Kinder verteilen. Die „Geschenke“ bekommt man aber nur, wenn man Namen und Anschrift des Kindes und mindestens eines Elternteils zurück meldet. Die Jury der BigBrotherAwards hält diese Praxis für besonders kritikwürdig, weil Schulen nicht als Datenpools für die Wirtschaft missbraucht werden dürfen.

Arbeitswelt: Daimler AG

Der BigBrotherAward 2011 in der Kategorie Arbeitswelt geht an die Daimler AG in Stuttgart für die Praxis, flächendeckend Bluttests von ihren Produktionsmitarbeitern zu fordern. Diese Form von modernem Vampirismus erfolgt ohne Rücksicht auf Persönlichkeitsrechte und meist ohne arbeitsrechtlich erforderlich zu sein. Ursprünglich hatte die Daimler AG diese Bluttests auch von ihren Verwaltungsmitarbeitern gefordert, das wurde allerdings inzwischen wieder eingestellt. Daimler erhält den Preis stellvertretend für mehrere weitere deutsche Unternehmen, die diese Bluttests fordern, weil der Autohersteller nicht die Bluttests für problematisch hält, sondern die aus dem Datenschutz folgenden Eingriffe in ärztliche Befugnisse.

Kommunikation: Facebook

Der BigBrotherAward 2011 in der Kategorie "Kommunikation" geht an die Facebook Deutschland GmbH für die gezielte Ausforschung von Menschen und ihrer persönlichen Beziehungen hinter der netten Fassade eines vorgeblichen Gratisangebots. Die gesammelten Daten speichert Facebook in den USA – Zugriff für Geheimdienste möglich, Löschen nicht vorgesehen. Per „Freundefinder“ und "Handy-App" eignet sich Facebook Telefonnummern und Mailadressen aus den Adressbüchern der Nutzer an. Der "Gefällt-mir"-Button auf fremden Webangeboten verpetzt auch ohne Anklicken alle Besucher der Seite an Facebook. Mit Facebook wuchert eine Art zentrale „Gated Community“ im Netz, in der Menschen auf Schritt und Tritt beobachtet werden. Hier herrscht die Willkür eines Konzerns und der verdient mit systematischen Datenschutzverstößen Milliarden.

Kommunikation: Apple

Ein weiterer BigBrotherAward 2011 in der Kategorie „Kommunikation“ geht an die Apple GmbH in München für die Geiselnahme ihrer Kunden mittels teurer Hardware und die darauf folgende Erpressung, den firmeneigenen zweifelhaften Datenschutzbedingungen zuzustimmen. Wer sich für mehrere hundert Euro ein schickes neues iPhone gekauft hat, will es auch nutzen. Die Kunden haben quasi keine Wahl, den 117 iPhone-Display-Seiten mit Datenschutzbedingungen nicht zuzustimmen, denn sonst könnten sie ihr teures Gerät maximal zum Telefonieren nutzen. Insbesondere die Lokalisierungs- oder Standortdaten der Nutzer werden von App-Betreibern und Werbekunden gerne genutzt, um speziell zugeschnittene Werbung zu platzieren.

Politik: Uwe Schünemann

Der BigBrotherAward 2011 in der Kategorie „Politik“ geht an den Niedersächsischen Innenminister Uwe Schünemann (CDU) für den ersten nachgewiesenen polizeilichen Einsatz einer Mini-Überwachungsdrohne bei politischen Versammlungen. Während der Demonstrationen und Protestaktionen gegen den Castor-Transport im Wendland im November 2010 haben insgesamt vier Mal so genannte „fliegende Augen“ die Demonstranten heimlich ausgespäht und kontrolliert. Diese rechtlich höchst umstrittene Überwachungsmaßnahme aus der Luft kann Persönlichkeitsrechte von Betroffenen verletzen sowie einschüchternde und abschreckende Wirkung auf die Versammlungsteilnehmer haben.

Pressespiegel BigBrotherAwards 2011

Pressespiegel BigBrotherAwards 2011

Uff. Unsere Arbeit hat sich gelohnt. Auch dieses Jahr hat die Presse groß über die Verleihung der BigBrotherAwards berichtet. Wir haben einen Teil der online verfügbaren Artikel, Filmbeiträge und Radiosendungen zusammen- und hier zum Anklicken bereitgestellt.

Über die BigBrotherAwards

Die BigBrotherAwards prämieren Datensünder in Wirtschaft und Politik und wurden deshalb von Le Monde „Oscars für Datenkraken“ genannt.  Die BigBrotherAwards sind ein internationales Projekt: In bisher 19 Ländern wurden fragwürdige Praktiken mit diesen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

In Deutschland werden sie organisiert und ausgerichtet von Digitalcourage, Mitveranstalter sind unter anderem die DVD, ILMR und der CCC.