The current Jury

The jury members for the 2020 BigBrotherAwards are:

Rena Tangens, Digitalcourage

padeluun, Digitalcourage

Digitalcourage strives to preserve a world worth living in the digital age since 1987. Digitalcoruage works for data protection, privacy and human rights. The NGO organises the German BigBrotherAwards in Bielefeld since 2000.

Dr. Rolf Gössner, ILMR

The Internationale Liga für Menschenrechte e.V. (ILFM), the German section of the International League for Human Rights, is a long-established, independent NGO with charity status. It strives to accomplish and further human rights and peace in the spirit of German journalist and pacifist and 1935 Nobel Peace Prize laureate, Carl von Ossietzky.

Prof. Dr. Peter Wedde

Peter Wedde is professor for industrial law und law for the information society at Frankfurt University of Applied Science, and a publisher and author.

Dr. Thilo Weichert, DVD, Netzwerk Datenschutzexpertise

Thilo Weichert is a former Data Protection Commissioner for the German state of Schleswig-Holstein, a board member of Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz (DVD – German association for data protection – an independent civil rights association that works for data protection issues in Germany and Europe), and a member of Netzwerk Datenschutzexpertise (Network Data Protection Expertise).

Frank Rosengart, CCC

The Chaos Computer Club (CCC) is the largest hacker association in Europe and has been moderating the tensions between technological and social developments since 1981.


Former jury members

Sebastian Lisken (2000), FoeBuD e.V.

Dr. Thilo Weichert (2000, 2002-2003), Karin Schuler (2004-2009) & Frans Valenta (2012), Sönke Hilbrans (2011-2016) Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz e.V.

Hans Hübner (2000), Jens Ohlig (2001) & Andreas Bogk (2011), Linus Neumann (2015), Chaos Computer Club e.V.

Patrick Goltzsch (2000-2002), Lutz Donnerhacke (2003), Alvar C. H. Freude (2005-2009), Förderverein Informationstechnik und Gesellschaft e.V.

Ute Bernhardt (2001), Ingo Ruhmann (2001), Werner Hülsmann (2003-2008, 2011), Forum InformatikerInnen für Frieden und gesellschaftliche Verantwortung e.V.

Dr. Fredrik Roggan (2002-2009), Humanistische Union e.V.

Heribert Prantl, guest laudator (2014)

Max Schrems, guest laudator (2015), Europe versus Facebook

Martin Haase,

Kai Biermann,

Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger, former Federal Minister of Justice, guest laudator (2016)