Authorities & Administration

Authorities & Administration (2023)

Ministry of Finance

The BigBrotherAward 2023 in the category “Government and Administration” goes to the Federal Ministry of Finance, represented by the Finance Minister Christian Lindner. This BigBrotherAward is given for the Law on Tax Transparency…
Authorities & Administration (2019)

Peter Beuth

The Hessian Minister of the Interior, Peter Beuth, receives the BigBrotherAward 2019 in the “Authorities & Administration” Category for the acquisition and use of an analysis software by Palantir, a company close to the CIA that…
Administration (2018)

Cevisio Software und Systeme GmbH

The BigBrotherAward 2018 in the “Administration” Category goes to Cevisio Software und Systeme GmbH & Co. KG in Torgau, Germany, for their software Cevisio Quartiermanagement (QMM), which is used in refugee shelters. This software…
Authorities & Administration (2017)

German Federal Military and Federal Minister of Defence, Dr. Ursula von der Leyen

The German Federal Military (“Bundeswehr”) and the Federal Minister of Defence receive the 2017 Big Brother Award in the category Authorities and Administration for the military’s massive digital arms build-up including the new…
Authorities & Administration (2011)


The BigBrotherAward 2011 in the category Government and Administration goes to the chairman of the Census Commission, Prof. Dr. Gert G. Wagner for the all-encompassing population survey in Germany called “Zensus 2011”. He is…

About BigBrotherAwards

In a compelling, entertaining and accessible format, we present these negative awards to companies, organisations, and politicians. The BigBrotherAwards highlight privacy and data protection offenders in business and politics, or as the French paper Le Monde once put it, they are the “Oscars for data leeches”.

Organised by (among others):

BigBrother Awards International (Logo)

BigBrotherAwards International

The BigBrotherAwards are an international project: Questionable practices have been decorated with these awards in 19 countries so far.