Keynote – Digital Technology and the Fight for Values

Sarah Spiekermann of the Vienna University of Economics and Business held an unscripted keynote at the Big Brother Awards 2018. This is her pre-written abstract.

Digital technology has given us a lot of good, and changed our world for the better in many ways. But we find ourselves at a point in digital and thus social development where the positive effects of digital technologies on our world and our values are changing towards the opposite.

While digital contacts on Facebook were once a wonderful way of keeping friendships alive, they have now become a gigantic surveillance and freedom-restriction machine. The idea that Alexa would play music for us felt like a nice service, meanwhile it has turned into an unpredictable Trojan horse.

The promised values that we expect from digital technology are on a slope towards the negative. But what determines the tipping point? Where does it become a negative?

In my talk I will hypothesise that the digital as we experience it today is subject to a gigantic illusion: the Big Data illusion.

The Big Data illusion is the idea that machines could be able to understand the realm of values and thus the larger part of the human realm. I will show that that is not the case. It is an illusion because machines will never be able to sufficiently measure the invisible realm of human values in its infinite contextual variety. They do not have the sensory capability for that. They only have second-hand data.

What is worse, while they lack a sensory capability for values and mostly rely on bad data as well, they are being portrayed as world champions in “intelligence”. Even today people believe that given Alexa’s existence, Ex Machina can not be far away – and that both would be far better than those silly, small, irrational humans.

Entangled in this transhumanist delusion and unrealistic ideology of the Silicon Valley legions, we are drifting into a cold world where our values are destroyed because we believe in machines that do not know them.

Keynote – Das Digitale und der Kampf um die Werte

Sarah Spiekermann von der Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien hat zu den Big Brother Awards 2018 eine Keynote in freier Rede gehalten. Wir veröffentlichen hier ihr vorab geschriebenes Abstract.

Das Digitale hat uns viel Gutes beschert und unsere Welt in vielerlei Hinsicht zum Positiven verändert. Jedoch befinden wir uns an einem Punkt in der Entwicklung des Digitalen und damit der Gesellschaft, an dem sich die positiven Auswirkungen des Digitalen auf unsere Welt und auf unsere Werte sich ins Gegenteil verkehren.

War das Digitale einmal wunderbar, um auf Facebook Freundschaften zu erhalten, so ist es mittlerweile zu einer gigantischen Überwachungs- und Freiheitsberaubungsmaschine geworden. War die Idee der Alexa, uns Musik zu spielen, einmal ein schöner Service, so ist sie mittlerweile zu einem unberechenbaren trojanischen Pferd geworden.

Die Wertversprechen, die wir uns vom Digitalen erwarten, kippen ins Negative ab. Was bestimmt aber den Kipp-Punkt? Den Tipping Point ins Negative?

In meinem Vortrag stelle ich die Hypothese auf, dass das Digitale wie wir es heute erleben, einer gigantischen Illusion unterliegt: Der Big-Data-Illusion.

Die Big-Data-Illusion ist die Idee, dass Maschinen die Welt der Werte und damit den größeren Teil der menschlichen Welt verstehen könnten. Ich zeige, dass das nicht der Fall ist. Es ist eine Illusion, weil Maschinen die unsichtbare Welt der menschlichen Werte in ihrer unendlichen Kontextvielfalt niemals ausreichend messen können. Sie haben kein Sensorium dafür. Sie verfügen nur über 2nd-Hand-Daten.

Schlimmer noch: sie haben kein Sensorium für Werte und meistens noch schlechte Daten dazu, werden aber als Weltmeister in Sachen „Intelligenz“ dargestellt. Schon heute glaubt man, dass, wenn es Alexa gibt, Ex Machina nicht mehr weit entfernt sei und beide besser seien als der dumme, kleine, irrationale Mensch.

Verstrickt in diesen transhumanistischen Irrglauben und die weltfremden Ideologien der Silicon-Valley-Heerscharen driften wir in eine kalte Welt ab, in der unsere Werte zerstört werden, weil wir Maschinen glauben, die sie nicht kennen.