BigBrotherAwards 2005

Otto Schily, Minister for the Interior, increased his record to two BigBrotherAwards in 2005. After the jury had “honoured” him in the “Politics” category in 2001, he was now recognised for his lifetime achievements. This shows that our work must continue! Other awards went to the Federal State government of Lower Saxony, and for judges and numerous organisations that employ video surveillance.

News

  • The next BigBrotherAwards gala will be held on Fri, 5 May 2017 in Bielefeld.
  • All award speeches have been published on the German and English “awardees” pages.

Awardees 2005

Lifetime Achievement: Otto Schily

Mr Otto Schily, former Federal Minister of the Interior of Germany earns a BigBrotherAward for the current undemocratic introduction of the biometric passport, the technology of which is still immature and unsafe and which causes the whole population to be subjected to a police identification procedure normally applied to criminals.
Mr Schily will receive the BigBrotherAward also for his Lifetime Achievement, namely for the extension of the German and European surveillance system, to the severe cost of civic and freedom rights, and for his persistent efforts at eroding data protection under the guises of public security and fight against terror.

Politics: Saatgut Treuhand Verwaltung

"Saatgut Treuhand Verwaltungs GmbH", represented through CEO Mr Dirk Otten earns a BigBrotherAward for collecting data about farmers, for taking thousands of farmers unwilling to give their data to court, for procuring customers’ data from cooperatives and clandestine test-shopping at farmers’ shops. The farmers were suspected by Saatgut Treuhand to use potatos or other crops from their own harvests for next year’s plantings. For establishing a centralised control structure for the collection of fines as a service to the seed industry.

Governmental Authorities: Government of Lower Saxony

The Government of the state of Lower Saxony (Niedersachsen), represented through the state's Prime Minister Mr Christian Wulff earns a BigBrotherAward for destroying the data protection authority in Lower Saxony. The supervision of data protection in the economy is to be handed over to Lower Saxony's Ministry of the Interior as of 1 Jan 2006. This undermines proceedings by the EU-Commission recently opened against Germany for breach of contract through disregard of the EU data protection directive. The EU directive requires total independence of data protection supervision.

Communication: High Office of Public Prosecution SH

The Generalstaatsanwaltschaft (High Office of Public Prosecution) of the state of Schleswig-Holstein, represented through Mr Erhard Rex earns a BigBrotherAward for the extensive search for witnesses (who were then treated like suspects) through locating mobile phones. This is the first massive search of mobile phone cells. Phone companies were forced to disclose complete connection data for a whole region. Data protectors of the state of Schleswig-Holstein who wanted to investigate this case were denied access to the related police files.

Consumer Protection: FIFA World Cup 2006

The organising committee for the soccer World Cup within the German football association (Deutscher Fussballbund, DFB) - represented by Mr Franz Beckenbauer earns a BigBrotherAward for the inquisitorial questions asked in ticket application forms, for their plans of sharing customer data with FIFA and its sponsors, and for the use of RFID spychips in the tickets and thus the attempt to make this surveillance technology acceptable - directly benefiting a World Cup sponsor (RFID producer Philips).

Politics: Volker Bouffier

The Minister of the Interior of the state of Hesse, Mr Volker Bouffier, earns a BigBrotherAward for the "preventive" locating and tapping of mobile phones; for DNA-analysing child delinquents under 14 for use in future prosecution; for authorising Hessian police to scan car licence numbers even when there is no suspicion of a crime; for using video surveillance while checking identities of members of the public.

About BigBrotherAwards

The BigBrotherAwards highlight privacy and data protection offenders in business and politics, they have consequently been called “Oscars for data leeches” by the French paper Le Monde. BigBrotherAwards are an international project. 19 countries have so far given these awards for dubious practices.

The German awards are organised and held by  Digitalcourage. Among the co-organisers are the German Association for Data Protection (Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz, DVD), International League for Human Rights and the Chaos Computer Club.

BigBrotherAwards 2005

Otto Schily erhielt 2005 schon seinen zweiten BigBrotherAward. Nachdem die Jury ihn 2001 in der Kategorie "Politik" auszeichnete, prämierte sie nun sein Lebenswerk. Das zeigt, dass wir unsere Arbeit weiter fortsetzen müssen! Weitere Auszeichnungen gab es für die Landesregierung Niedersachsen sowie für Richter.innen und zahlreiche Organisationen, die Videoüberwachung verwenden.

Aktuelles

  • Der Termin für die nächsten BigBrotherAwards steht fest: Am Freitag, 5. Mai 2017 um 18 Uhr vergeben wir wieder die „Oscars für Datenkraken“.
  • Karten für die nächste Verleihungsgala gibt es im Vorverkauf im Shop und an der Abendkasse.
  • Die Preisträger.innen der BBA 2016 finden Sie auf der Jahresseite 2016

Die Preisträger 2005

Lebenswerk: Otto Schily

Otto Schily, ehemaliger Bundesminister des Inneren, erhält einen BigBrotherAward aktuell für die undemokratische Einführung des biometrischen Reisepasses, dessen Technik unausgereift und unsicher ist und der zu einer erkennungsdienstlichen Behandlung der gesamten Bevölkerung führt.
Otto Schily erhält den Preis auch für sein "Lebenswerk", nämlich für den Ausbau des deutschen und europäischen Überwachungssystems auf Kosten der Bürger- und Freiheitsrechte und für seine hartnäckigen Bemühungen um die Aushöhlung des Datenschutzes unter dem Deckmantel von Sicherheit und Terrorbekämpfung.

Wirtschaft: Saatgut Treuhand

Die Saatgut Treuhand Verwaltungs GmbH, vertreten durch Geschäftsführer Dirk Otten, erhält einen BigBrotherAward für Datensammlung über Bauern; Verklagen von mehreren tausend auskunftsunwilligen Landwirten; Beschaffung der Kundendaten von Genossenschaften und verdeckte Testeinkäufe bei Bauern. Die Bauern werden von der Saatgut Treuhand verdächtigt, Kartoffeln oder andere Feldfrüchte aus ihrer eigenen Ernte zur Aussaat im nächsten Jahr zu verwenden und für den Aufbau einer zentralen Kontrollstruktur zum Eintreiben der sogenannten Nachbaugebühren im Dienste der Saatgutindustrie.

Behörden & Verwaltung: Landesregierung Niedersachsen

Die Regierung des Landes Niedersachsen, vertreten durch den Ministerpräsidenten Herrn Christian Wulff, erhält einen BigBrotherAward für die Zerschlagung der Datenschutzaufsicht in Niedersachsen. Die Aufsicht über den Datenschutz in der Wirtschaft soll ab 1.1.2006 dem niedersächsischen Innenministerium zugeordnet werden. Dies konterkariert das jüngst von der EU-Kommision gegen Deutschland eingeleitete Vertragsverletzungsverfahren wegen Missachtung der EU-Datenschutzrichtlinie. Die EU-Richtlinie fordert völlige Unahängigkeit der Datenschutzaufsicht.

Kommunikation: Generalstaatsanwalt Schleswig-Holstein

Generalstaatsanwaltschaft des Landes Schleswig-Holstein, vertreten durch Erhard Rex, erhält einen BigBrotherAward für die großflächige Fahndung nach Zeugen (die wie Verdächtige behandelt wurden) mittels Handy-Ortung. Es handelt sich um die erste Funkzellen-Massenabfrage -- Mobilfunkunternehmen wurden zur Herausgabe sämtlicher Verbindungsdaten einer Region gezwungen. Die Einsicht in die zugehörigen Akten wurde den Datenschützern des Landes Schleswig-Holstein, die den Fall prüfen wollten, verweigert.

Verbraucherschutz: WM-Organisationskomittee

Das WM-Organisationskomittee des DFB, vertreten durch Franz Beckenbauer, erhält einen BigBrotherAward für die inquisitorischen Fragenbögen zur Bestellung von WM-Tickets, für die geplante Weitergabe der Adressen an die FIFA und deren Sponsoren und für die Nutzung von RFID-Schnüffelchips in den WM-Tickets und damit den Versuch, eine Kontrolltechnik salonfähig zu machen zum Nutzen eines WM-Sponsors (RFID-Hersteller Philips).

Politik: Volker Bouffier

Der Hessische Minister des Inneren, Volker Bouffier, bekommt einen BigBrotherAward für das "präventive" Orten und Abhören von Mobiltelefonen; für die DNA-Analyse bei Kindern unter 14 Jahren, die eine Straftat begangen haben zu deren zukünftiger Strafverfolgung; für die Befugnis der hessischen Polizei, Kfz-Kennzeichen auch ohne Straftatverdacht zu scannen und für den Einsatz von Videoüberwachung bei Personenkontrollen.

Über die BigBrotherAwards

Die BigBrotherAwards prämieren Datensünder in Wirtschaft und Politik und wurden deshalb von Le Monde „Oscars für Datenkraken“ genannt.  Die BigBrotherAwards sind ein internationales Projekt: In bisher 19 Ländern wurden fragwürdige Praktiken mit diesen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

In Deutschland werden sie organisiert und ausgerichtet von Digitalcourage, Mitveranstalter sind unter anderem die DVD, ILMR und der CCC.