BigBrotherAwards Germany 2022

This year’s BigBrotherAwards gala took place on 29 April 2022 in Bielefeld.

Video of the Gala (English audio)

The Jury 2022

Rena Tangens & padeluun (Digitalcourage)
Thilo Weichert (Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz und Netzwerk Datenschutzexpertise)
Frank Rosengart (Chaos Computer Club)
Prof. Dr. Peter Wedde (Institut für Datenschutz, Arbeitsrecht und Technologieberatung)

Authorities and Administration: Federal Criminal Police Office

The BigBrotherAward 2022 in the “Authorities and Administration” Category goes to the German Police, represented by the Federal Criminal Police Office (Bundeskriminalamt) for the way personal data are stored in digital files and how they are used. Contrary to constitutional and European legal requirements, data in these files are not labelled, or not labelled appropriately. This entails the risk that the police or other agencies may, without justification, treat millions of people as dangerous persons (German “Gefährder”) or criminal offenders.

Technology: Bundesdruckerei

The Bundesdruckerei (“Federal Printer”) receives the BigBrotherAward in the Technology category for its senseless use and promotion of blockchain technology, which is not only a waste of energy but also comes with severe data protection implications. A case in point is its project to use blockchain to verify the authenticity of school reports.

Lifetime Achievement: Irish Data Protection Commission

The BigBrotherAward 2022 in the category “Lifetime Achievement” goes to the Irish Data Protection Commission, represented by Helen Dixon, for its continued sabotage of efforts to enforce European data protection law. Under the authority’s care, Ireland has become a haven for surveillance capitalism business models by Facebook, Google, Apple, Microsoft, Oracle and Salesforce.

Workplace: Lieferando

The BigBrotherAward 2022 in the Workplace category goes to Lieferando and its German representative, the yd.yourdelivery GmbH.
Lieferando receives the BigBrotherAward 2022 for exercising illicit, comprehensive control over its employed “riders”. This is achieved by use of the Scoober App which captures an abundance of behavioural data in detail and by the second. This includes pick-up time at the restaurant, drop-off times at the customer, and location data every 15 to 20 seconds.

About BigBrotherAwards

The BigBrotherAwards highlight privacy and data protection offenders in business and politics, they have consequently been called “Oscars for data leeches” by the French paper Le Monde.

The German awards are organised and held by  Digitalcourage. Among the co-organisers are the German Association for Data Protection (Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz, DVD), International League for Human Rights and the Chaos Computer Club.

BigBrotherAwards 2022

Die BigBrotherAwards dieses Jahres wurden am 29. April 2022 in Bielefeld verliehen.

Das Video der Gala

Behörden und Verwaltung: Bundeskriminalamt

Der BigBrotherAward in der Kategorie Behörden und Verwaltung 2022 geht an die deutsche Polizei, vertreten durch das Bundeskriminalamt, für die Art, wie personenbezogenen Daten in Dateien abgespeichert und genutzt werden. Entgegen der verfassungs- und europarechtlichen Vorgaben werden die Daten in Dateien nicht oder unzureichend gekennzeichnet. Dadurch besteht die Gefahr, dass Millionen Menschen von der Polizei oder anderen Behörden ungerechtfertigter Weise als Gefährder oder Straftäter behandelt werden.

Technik: Bundesdruckerei

Die Bundesdruckerei GmbH erhält den Big Brother Award in der Kategorie Technik für die unsinnige Verwendung und Beförderung von Blockchain-Technik, welche nicht nur energiefressend ist, sondern auch Konsequenzen für den Datenschutz haben kann. Ein Beispiel ist das Projekt, die Authentizität von Schulzeugnissen mit Hilfe von Blockchain zu belegen.

Arbeitswelt: Lieferando

Der BigBrotherAward 2022 in der Kategorie Arbeitsrecht geht an Lieferando und den deutschen Betreiber dieses Angebots, die yd.yourdelivery GmbH.
Lieferando erhält den BigBrotherAward 2022 für die unzulässige Totalkontrolle ihrer beschäftigten „Rider“. Diese erfolgt mit Hilfe der Scoober-App, die detailliert und sekundengenau eine Fülle von Verhaltensdaten erfasst. Hierzu gehört neben dem Zeitpunkt der Abholung im Restaurant und der Übergabe an Kunden auch alle 15 bis 20 Sekunden eine Standortbestimmung.

Verbraucherschutz: Klarna

Der BigBrotherAward in der Kategorie Verbraucherschutz geht an das schwedische Unternehmen Klarna Bank AB. Klarna bündelt intransparent Daten und Macht als Shopping-Service, Zahlungsdienstleister, Preisvergleichsportal, persönlicher Finanzmanager, Bonitätskontrolleur und Bank.

Über die BigBrotherAwards

Spannend, unterhaltsam und gut verständlich wird dieser Datenschutz-Negativpreis an Firmen, Organisationen und Politiker.innen verliehen. Die BigBrotherAwards prämieren Datensünder in Wirtschaft und Politik und wurden deshalb von Le Monde „Oscars für Datenkraken“ genannt.

In Deutschland werden sie organisiert und ausgerichtet von Digitalcourage, Mitveranstalter sind unter anderem die DVD, ILMR und der CCC.

Newsletter von Digitalcourage bestellen

Der kostenfreie E-Mail-Newsletter informiert ein- bis zweimal im Monat über die Arbeit von Digitalcourage und Veranstaltungen. Jetzt anmelden.