Mobility: The European Commission

The BigBrotherAward 2021 in the category “Mobility” goes to the European Commission for the introduction of the “On-Board Fuel Consumption Meter” (OBFCM). The OBFCM collects an extensive amount of technical information about a vehicle and transmits it to the manufacturer along with the vehicle identification number. The OBFCM is mandatory for all new cars as of 1 Jan 2021.

Education: Proctorio GmbH

Proctorio GmbH receives the BigBrotherAwards 2021 for its offer of “fully automatic exam supervision”, which supposedly facilitates total control of students in online exams. During an exam, the AI-based software is said to be able to recognise eye movements of students that point to an attempt at cheating, which then raises an automatic alarm.

Public Intellectual: Prof. Dr. phil. Dr. h. c. Julian Nida-Rümelin

The BigBrotherAward 2021 in the category “Public Intellectual” is awarded to the philosopher and vice chairperson of the German Ethics Council, Julian Nida-Rümelin, for his untenable claim, repeatedly made in public, that “data protection” had hindered the fight to contain the Corona pandemic and was responsible for thousands of deaths.

Health: Doctolib

The BigBrotherAward in 2021 in the category Health goes to Doctolib GmbH, Berlin. In particular, Doctolib offers the scheduling of doctor’s appointments via its platform. These data are processed in violation of confidentiality obligations and are used commercially for marketing purposes according to their privacy agreement.

About BigBrotherAwards

The BigBrotherAwards highlight privacy and data protection offenders in business and politics, they have consequently been called “Oscars for data leeches” by the French paper Le Monde. BigBrotherAwards are an international project. 19 countries have so far given these awards for dubious practices.

The German awards are organised and held by  Digitalcourage. Among the co-organisers are the German Association for Data Protection (Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz, DVD), International League for Human Rights and the Chaos Computer Club.

Verkehr: Die Europäische Kommission

Die Europäische Kommission erhält den BigBrotherAward 2021 in der Kategorie Verkehr für die Einführung des Verfahrens „On-Board Fuel Consumption Meter“ (OBFCM). Dabei werden erhebliche Mengen an technischen Informationen eines Autos aufgezeichnet und zusammen mit der Fahrzeugidentifikationsnummer an den Hersteller übermittelt. Das OBFCM ist seit Jahresbeginn 2021 für Neuwagen verpflichtend.

Bildung: Proctorio GmbH

Die Proctorio-GmbH erhält den BigBrotherAward 2021 für den angebotenen „vollautomatischen Prüfungsaufsichtsservice“, der eine Totalkontrolle von Studierenden bei Online-Prüfungen ermöglichen soll. Während der Prüfung soll die KI-basierte Software insbesondere Blicke von Prüflingen erkennen, die auf einen Täuschungsversuch hindeuten, und dann automatisch Alarm schlagen.

Gesundheit: Doctolib GmbH

Den BigBrotherAward 2021 in der Kategorie Gesundheit erhält die Firma Doctolib GmbH, Berlin. Doctolib bietet insbesondere die Vermittlung von Arztterminen über ihre Plattform an. Diese Daten werden unter Missachtung der Vertraulichkeitsverpflichtung verarbeitet und laut Datenschutzvereinbarung auch im Rahmen kommerzieller Marketingzwecke genutzt.

Die Jury 2021

Rena Tangens & padeluun (Digitalcourage)
Thilo Weichert (Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz und Netzwerk Datenschutzexpertise)
Frank Rosengart (Chaos Computer Club)
Prof. Dr. Peter Wedde (Institut für Datenschutz, Arbeitsrecht und Technologieberatung)

Über die BigBrotherAwards

Die BigBrotherAwards prämieren Datensünder in Wirtschaft und Politik und wurden deshalb von Le Monde „Oscars für Datenkraken“ genannt.  Die BigBrotherAwards sind ein internationales Projekt: In bisher 19 Ländern wurden fragwürdige Praktiken mit diesen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

In Deutschland werden sie organisiert und ausgerichtet von Digitalcourage, Mitveranstalter sind unter anderem die DVD, ILMR und der CCC.