BigBrotherAwards 2019

The 2019 German BigBrotherAwards gala was held on 8 June 2019 at Bielefeld theatre. Watch the full German BigBrotherAwards gala now.

··········· Award speeches 2019 ···········
(1) Authorities & Administration: Hessian Minister of the Interior, Peter Beuth
(2) Workplace: Interview – Surveillance and Privacy in the Workplace
(3) Biotechnology: Ancestry.com
(4) Communication: Precire Technologies
(5) Technology: “Technical Committee CYBER” of the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI)
(6) Consumer Protection: ZEIT Online
* Reprimands and Commendation
 

All awardees 2019

Authorities & Administration: Hessian Minister of the Interior, Peter Beuth

The Hessian Minister of the Interior, Peter Beuth, receives the BigBrotherAward 2019 in the “Authorities & Administration” Category for the acquisition and use of an analysis software by Palantir, a company close to the CIA that has consequently gained access to the highly sensitive data networks of Hessian Police. With this software, mass data from police and external sources can automatically be interrelated, analysed and evaluated.

Workplace: Interview – Surveillance and Privacy in the Workplace

Peter Wedde, expert for employment law, will highlight dangerous trends and trend-setting developments in a live interview. Ostensibly there were no major scandals about spying on employees in the last few years, but Peter Wedde points out why workers still face increasing surveillance and what the consequences are. [A transcription of the interview will be published later.]

Biotechnology: Ancestry.com

The company Ancestry.com receives the BigBrotherAward 2019 in the Biotechnology Category for enticing people with an interest in genealogy into submitting saliva samples. Ancestry.com sells genetic data to commercial pharmaceutical researchers, creates a data source prerequisite for genetic screening by the police and enables covert paternity tests, potentially causing familiy drama.

Technology: “Technical Committee CYBER” of the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI)

The “Technical Committee CYBER” of the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) receives the BigBrotherAward 2019 in the “Technology” Category for its efforts to establish a predetermined breaking point in the new technical standard for encryption on the Internet. The planned standard “ETS” (formerly “eTLS”) will enable government agencies to decrypt intercepted communications.

Consumer Protection: ZEIT Online

The ZEIT newspaper’s online presence receives the BigBrotherAward 2019 in the “Consumer Protection” Category. Firstly, for using advertising trackers and the Facebook Pixel. Second, for the use of Google services in the “Germany Talks” project. This leads to individuals’ political opinions being stored in US servers. Thirdly, for having the succesor project “My Country Talks“ financed by Google. This Faustian pact with one of the biggest data leeches damages journalistic independence.

Audience Award 2019

For the first time, our audience was given the opportunity to answer the traditional question which awardee they had found particularly “impressive, surprising, shocking, or outrageous” online as well as in the hall. Here is the result.

About BigBrotherAwards

The BigBrotherAwards highlight privacy and data protection offenders in business and politics, they have consequently been called “Oscars for data leeches” by the French paper Le Monde. BigBrotherAwards are an international project. 19 countries have so far given these awards for dubious practices.

The German awards are organised and held by  Digitalcourage. Among the co-organisers are the German Association for Data Protection (Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz, DVD), International League for Human Rights and the Chaos Computer Club.

Photos 2019

Images of the gala 2019 will be posted on this German page.

Die BigBrotherAwards 2019

Die BigBrotherAwards 2019 in voller Länge gibt es online auf media.ccc. Für den Terminkalender: Die BigBrotherAwards 2020 werden am Donnerstag, 30. April 2020 im Stadttheater Bielefeld und online verliehen! Wer aktuelle Infos möchte, kann hier den E-Mail-Newsletter von Digitalcourage abonnieren.

Videos der einzelnen Laudationes:

Behörden und Verwaltung: Peter Beuth, hessischer Innenminister

Der hessische Innenminister Peter Beuth (CDU) erhält den BigBrotherAward 2019 in der Kategorie Behörden & Verwaltung für Anschaffung und Einsatz einer Analysesoftware der CIA-nahen US-Firma Palantir, die auf diese Weise Zugang zum höchst sensiblen Datennetz der hessischen Polizei erhält. Mit dieser Software können Massendaten aus polizeieigenen und externen Quellen automatisiert verknüpft, analysiert und ausgewertet werden – mit gravierende Folgen für Grundrechte, Datenschutz und Rechtsstaat.

Arbeitswelt: Interview – Überwachung und Datenschutz am Arbeitsplatz

In einem Live-Interview wird Prof. Peter Wedde, Experte für Arbeitsrecht, gefährliche Trends und und richtungsweisende Entwicklungen beleuchten. Nur scheinbar gab es in den vergangenen Jahren keine großen Skandale um Ausspähung von Angestellten. Peter Wedde zeigt auf, warum dennoch Arbeitnehmerinnen und Arbeitnehmer zunehmend Überwachung ausgesetzt sind und welche Konsequenzen das hat. [Eine Transkription des Interviews werden wir nach der Gala bereitstellen.]

Biotechnik: Ancestry.com

Die Firma Ancestry.com erhält den BigBrotherAward 2019 in der Kategorie Biotechnik, weil sie Menschen mit Interesse an Familienforschung dazu verleitet, ihre Speichelproben einzusenden. Ancestry verkauft die Gendaten an die kommerzielle Pharmaforschung, ermöglicht verdeckte Vaterschaftstest und schafft die Datengrundlage für polizeiliche genetische Rasterungen.

Tadel und Lob

Tadel gehen im Jahr 2019 an Moodtracker-Apps, die Berliner Verkehrs-Gesellschaft und das Edeka-Center in Porta Westfalica. Ein Lob erhält die Freie Ärzteschaft zusammen mit dem IT-Dienstleister Jens Ernst.

Technik: „Technical Committee CYBER“ des Europäischen Instituts für Telekommunikationsnormen (ETSI)

Das „Technical Committee CYBER“ beim Europäischen Institut für Telekommunikationsnormen (ETSI) erhält den BigBrotherAward 2019 in der Kategorie Technik für den Versuch, den neuen technischen Standard für die Verschlüsselung im Internet mit einer Sollbruchstelle auszustatten. Über den geplanten Standard „ETS“ (vormals "eTLS") werden staatliche Behörden in die Lage versetzt, abgehörte Verbindungen zu entschlüsseln.

Verbraucherschutz: ZEIT Online

Der Online-Auftritt der „Zeit“ erhält den BigBrotherAward 2019 in der Kategorie Verbraucherschutz: Erstens für Werbetracker und den Facebook-Pixel. Zweitens für die Nutzung von Google-Diensten beim Projekt „Deutschland spricht“. Damit werden politische Ansichten von Menschen auf Servern in den USA gespeichert. Drittens dafür, dass sie sich das Nachfolgeprojekt von „Deutschland spricht“ von Google haben finanzieren lassen. Dieser faustische Pakt mit einer der größten Datenkraken beschädigt die journalistische Unabhängigkeit. [Update]

Publikumspreis 2019

Die traditionelle Frage an unser Publikum, welcher Preisträger es besonders „beeindruckt, erstaunt, erschüttert, empört, …“ hatte, konnte in diesem Jahr erstmal auch online beantwortet werden. Hier ist das Ergebnis.

Über die BigBrotherAwards

Die BigBrotherAwards prämieren Datensünder in Wirtschaft und Politik und wurden deshalb von Le Monde „Oscars für Datenkraken“ genannt.  Die BigBrotherAwards sind ein internationales Projekt: In bisher 19 Ländern wurden fragwürdige Praktiken mit diesen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

In Deutschland werden sie organisiert und ausgerichtet von Digitalcourage, Mitveranstalter sind unter anderem die DVD, ILMR und der CCC.