Watch the BigBrotherAwards gala 2020

The video of the gala is available with kind support from media.ccc.de. The video player can be switched to the English audio track via the cogwheel button (at the bottom of the player, second button to the right).

Results of the audience vote

  1. Historical Amnesia (conference of interior ministers of the German federal states)
  2. Education (BrainCo company and Leibniz Science Campus Tübingen)
  3. Mobility (Tesla)
  4. Digitalisation (Minister of Education of Baden-Württemberg, Susanne Eisenmann)
  5. Politics (the German Federal Government)
  6. Workplace (H&M)
  7. Authorities & Administration (Brandenburg Interior Minister)

 
 

BigBrotherAwards 2020: awards and contributions

Mobility: Tesla

Tesla Inc., represented by Tesla Germany GmbH in Munich, receives the BigBrotherAward 2020 in the “Mobility” Category for marketing cars that extensively and perpetually surveil their passengers and car surroundings. The data obtained is constantly analysed and can be used for any purpose.

Authorities & Administration: Brandenburg Interior Minister

The BigBrotherAward 2020 in the “Authorities & Administration” Category goes to the Interior Minister of the Federal State of Brandenburg, Michael Stübgen, and his predecessor Karl-Heinz Schröter for permanently storing vehicle number plates. More than 40 million records containing vehicle information have been permanently stored in Brandenburg for many years using the so-called “recording mode” of the KESY system even though the Federal Constitutional Court has set very clear boundaries for that.

Education: BrainCo company and Leibniz Science Campus Tübingen

The company BrainCo receives the BBA in the “Education” category for its EEG headbands, which can allegedly measure students’ attention by their brain activity. The attention level is signalled by an LED on the headband and radioed to the teacher’s computer. In the US and China this technology is already used in classrooms. The second awardee is the Leibniz Science Campus Tübingen, which is trialling similar headbands in Germany, combined with eye tracking. That is dressage rather than education.

Politics: the German Federal Government

The BigBrotherAward 2020 in the Category “Politics” goes to The German Federal Government (supported by the coalition of the parties CDU/CSU and SPD), represented by the Chancellor, Angela Merkel (CDU), for its joint legal and political responsibility for the US drone war, which violates international law and is conducted via the satellite and data relay facility at the US airbase at Ramstein (in the German region of the Palatinate). It is here, on German soil, where weaponised drone operations in the Middle and Greater Middle East and on the African continent are controlled.

Workplace: Hennes & Mauritz (H&M)

H&M Hennes & Mauritz B.V. & Co. KG in Hamburg receives the BigBrotherAward 2020 in the “Workplace” category for the long-standing, devious and illegal processing of employee data at the H&M customer centre in Nuremberg. H&M has collected data concerning health problems of employees, as well as those of family members and colleagues. This information was gathered by H&M team leaders from friendly conversations at the workplace or on a coffee break.

Historical Amnesia: conference of interior ministers of the German federal states

The conference of interior ministers of the German federal states receives the BigBrotherAward 2020 in the “Historical Amnesia” Category for their intention to create a life-long personal identification number based on the tax identification number. Such personal identification numbers were used in two dictatorships on German soil: in Nazi Germany and in the East German GDR – for registration, repression and in the end for extermination. They violate the spirit of the constitution.

About BigBrotherAwards

The BigBrotherAwards highlight privacy and data protection offenders in business and politics, they have consequently been called “Oscars for data leeches” by the French paper Le Monde. BigBrotherAwards are an international project. 19 countries have so far given these awards for dubious practices.

The German awards are organised and held by  Digitalcourage. Among the co-organisers are the German Association for Data Protection (Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz, DVD), International League for Human Rights and the Chaos Computer Club.

Images of the gala

Photos of the BigBrotherAwards gala 2020 can be found on this German page.

The Jury 2020

Rena Tangens & padeluun (Digitalcourage)
Thilo Weichert (Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz und Netzwerk Datenschutzexpertise)
Frank Rosengart (Chaos Computer Club)
Prof. Dr. Peter Wedde (Institut für Datenschutz, Arbeitsrecht und Technologieberatung)
Dr. Rolf Gössner (Internationale Liga für Menschenrechte)
Guest authors: Claudia Fischer, Jessica Wawrzyniak (Digitalcourage), Leena Simon (muendigkeit.digital and Digitalcourage)

BigBrotherAwards 2020

Im Corona-Jahr mussten die BigBrotherAwards in den Herbst verschoben werden. Zu den schon im April ausgewählten sechs Preisträgern Tesla, Innenministerkonferenz, BrainCo, Bundesregierung und H&M gesellte sich deshalb noch kurzfristig Susanne Eisenmann hinzu.
Der Publikumspreis ging an die Innenministerkonferenz für ihre Geschichtsvergessenheit.

Corona hat auch uns gebeutelt

Wir mussten die Veranstaltung verschieben und hatten dadurch einige Mehrkosten. Noch dazu konnte es in diesem Jahr nur sehr wenige Zuschauer.innen vor Ort geben, wodurch uns Einnahmen für den Eintritt fehlen. Deshalb freuen wir uns in diesem Jahr besonders über Spenden.

Video von der Gala

Das Video wird freundlicherweise auf media.ccc.de zur Verfügung gestellt.

Die Jury 2020

Rena Tangens & padeluun (Digitalcourage)
Thilo Weichert (Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz und Netzwerk Datenschutzexpertise)
Frank Rosengart (Chaos Computer Club)
Prof. Dr. Peter Wedde (Institut für Datenschutz, Arbeitsrecht und Technologieberatung)
Dr. Rolf Gössner (Internationale Liga für Menschenrechte)
Gastautorinnen: Claudia Fischer, Jessica Wawrzyniak (Digitalcourage), Leena Simon (muendigkeit.digital und Digitalcourage)

BigBrotherAwards 2020: Preise und Beiträge

Mobilität: Tesla

Tesla, vertreten durch die Tesla Germany GmbH, München, erhält den BigBrotherAward 2020 in der Kategorie „Mobilität“ dafür, dass sie Autos verkaufen, die ihre Insassen und die Umgebung des Autos umfassend und langfristig überwachen. Die erhobenen Daten werden permanent ausgewertet und können für beliebige Zwecke weiter genutzt werden.

Behörden und Verwaltung: Innenminister des Landes Brandenburg, Michael Stübgen, und sein Vorgänger, Karl-Heinz Schröter

Der Innenminister des Landes Brandenburg, Michael Stübgen, und sein Vorgänger, Karl-Heinz Schröter, erhalten den BigBrotherAward 2020 in der Kategorie „Behörden und Verwaltung“ für die dauerhafte Speicherung von Autokennzeichen. In Brandenburg werden seit vielen Jahren Fahrzeug-Informationen in über 40 Millionen Datensätzen im sogenannten „Aufzeichnungsmodus“ des Kennzeichen-Erfassungssystems KESY dauerhaft gespeichert, obwohl das Bundesverfassungsgericht diesbezüglich klare Grenzen gezogen hat.

Bildung: Firma BrainCo und der Leibniz-Wissenschaftscampus Tübingen

Die Firma BrainCo erhält den BBA in der Kategorie „Bildung“ für ihre EEG-Stirnbänder, die mittels Gehirnstrommessung angeblich die Konzentration von Schülerinnen und Schülern messen können. Der Konzentrationsgrad wird von einer LED auf dem Stirnband angezeigt und per Funk an den Lehrerrechner übermittelt. In USA und China wird diese Technik bereits in Klassenzimmern eingesetzt. Weiterer Preisträger ist der Leibniz-Wissenschaftscampus Tübingen, der ähnliche EEG-Stirnbänder auch in Deutschland erprobt, kombiniert mit Eyetracking. Das ist Dressur statt Bildung.

Politik: die Bundesregierung

Die Bundesregierung (CDU/CSU–SPD) erhält den BigBrotherAward 2020 in der Kategorie „Politik“ wegen ihrer rechtlichen und politischen Mitverantwortung für den völkerrechtswidrigen US-Drohnenkrieg, der über die Datenrelais- und Steuerungsstation der US-Militärbasis Ramstein/Pfalz abgewickelt wird. Von hier, also von deutschem Boden aus, werden bewaffnete Drohneneinsätze zur Ausforschung von Zielpersonen und zu illegalen Hinrichtungen angeblicher Terroristen im Nahen und Mittleren Osten gesteuert, denen regelmäßig unbeteiligte Zivilpersonen zum Opfer fallen.

Arbeitswelt: Hennes & Mauritz (H&M)

Die H&M Hennes & Mauritz B.V. & Co. KG in Hamburg erhält den BBA 2020 in der Kategorie „Arbeitswelt“ für jahrelange, hinterhältige und rechtswidrige Verarbeitung von Beschäftigtendaten im H&M-Kundencenter in Nürnberg. H&M hat hier Daten über Krankheiten von Mitarbeitern ebenso gesammelt wie über die von Angehörigen oder Kollegen. Diese Informationen haben H&M-Teamleiter im Rahmen von freundlichen Gesprächen am Arbeitsplatz oder in der Kaffeeküche erfragt.

Geschichtsvergessenheit: Innenministerkonferenz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland

Die Innenministerkonferenz der Bundesrepublik Deutschland erhält den BigBrotherAward 2020 in der Kategorie „Geschichtsvergessenheit“ für die Absicht, auf der Basis der Steuer-Identifikationsnummer eine lebenslang gültige Personenkennziffer einzuführen. Derartige Personenkennziffern wurden in den zwei Diktaturen auf deutschem Boden – im Nazideutschland und in der DDR – zur Erfassung, zur Repression bis hin zur Vernichtung genutzt. Sie widersprechen dem Geist des Grundgesetzes.

Über die BigBrotherAwards

Die BigBrotherAwards prämieren Datensünder in Wirtschaft und Politik und wurden deshalb von Le Monde „Oscars für Datenkraken“ genannt.  Die BigBrotherAwards sind ein internationales Projekt: In bisher 19 Ländern wurden fragwürdige Praktiken mit diesen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

In Deutschland werden sie organisiert und ausgerichtet von Digitalcourage, Mitveranstalter sind unter anderem die DVD, ILMR und der CCC.

Ergebnis der Publikumsabstimmung

  1. Geschichtsvergessenheit (Innenministerkonferenz)
  2. Bildung (BrainCo und Leibniz-Wissenschaftscampus Tübingen)
  3. Mobilität (Tesla)
  4. Digitalisierung (Baden-Württembergs Kultusministerin Dr. Susanne Eisenmann)
  5. Politik (Bundesregierung)
  6. Arbeitswelt (H&M)
  7. Behörden (Brandenburgs Innenminister Michael Stübgen und vorher Karl-Heinz Schröter)