The BigBrotherAwards 2018

The BigBrotherAwards gala took place on Friday, 20 April 2018 at the Theater Bielefeld.

Images 2018

Photos taken at the gala can be found on a separate page.

News

  • The BigBrotherAwards gala 2018 took place on 20 April 2018 at Bielefeld Theatre. The winners can be found on our 2018 page.
  • We look forward to your nominations (German page) for the BigBrotherAwards 2019.

BigBrotherAward winners 2018

Workplace: Soma Analytics

The company “Soma Analytics” receives the BigBrotherAward 2018 in the “Workplace” category for their efforts to propagate their health app “Kelaa” and the “Kelaa Dashboard” among the human resources departments of companies. The app monitors several parameters (such as excitement in the voice during phone calls) to spy on the users’ vital functions, in order to give employers indications of their employees’ mental state.

PR & Marketing: the idea of a “Smart City”

The BigBrotherAward 2018 in the “PR and Marketing” Category goes to the idea of a “Smart City”. The advertising concept of a “Smart City” is used by tech companies to try to sell the idea of a “safe city” to municipal administrations: A city, covered in sensors, under total surveillance, remote-controlled and commercialised. “Smart Cities” reduce their citizens to mere consumers, change consumers into data sources and our democracy into a privatised service.

Technology: Microsoft Germany

Microsoft Germany, represented by Sabine Bendiek, Chairwoman of the Management Board, receives the BigBrotherAward 2018 in the Technology category for implanting telemetry (i.e. the transmission of diagnostic data) in Windows 10 that is almost impossible to deactivate. Even skilled users will hardly be able to stop this data from being transmitted.

Administration: Cevisio Software und Systeme GmbH

The BigBrotherAward 2018 in the “Administration” Category goes to Cevisio Software und Systeme GmbH & Co. KG in Torgau, Germany, for their software Cevisio Quartiermanagement (QMM), which is used in refugee shelters. This software can be used to register and store movements to the shelter, movements within the shelter, the handing out of meals, medical checks such as X-rays, blood and stool tests, family relationships, religious affiliation and ethnicity and many other details. The collected data facilitate a total control of the refugees.

Consumer Protection: Amazon Alexa

Amazon receives the BigBrotherAward 2018 in the “Consumer Protection” category for its nosy, impertinent, all-too clever and gossipy bugging operation in a can by the name of Alexa. It is well known that Alexa’s speech recordings are processed in the Cloud. What is award-worthy is the fact that these recordings are also stored in the Cloud and that they can be played back even months later. That makes it possible to monitor everyone present in the home, and it is unclear who else is given access to the recordings.

Politics: parliamentary groups of the Christian Democrats (CDU) and the Greens in Hesse

The parliamentary groups for the Christian-Democratic and the Green parties in the state parliament of Hesse receive the BigBrotherAward 2018 in the Politics category for their plans for a new domestic intelligence law. The draft by the “black-green coalition” contains an accumulation of grave surveillance powers that facilitate severe interferences with fundamental rights: So-called state trojans are to be used to secretly infect and investigate “suspect” computers, employees of projects to further democratic society are to be screened by intelligence agencies and, in a legal novelty, criminal undercover agents are to be exempted from persecution. All in all, this is a severe attack on democracy, on the rule of law, and on fundamental rights.

About BigBrotherAwards

The BigBrotherAwards highlight privacy and data protection offenders in business and politics, they have consequently been called “Oscars for data leeches” by the French paper Le Monde. BigBrotherAwards are an international project. 19 countries have so far given these awards for dubious practices.

The German awards are organised and held by  Digitalcourage. Among the co-organisers are the German Association for Data Protection (Deutsche Vereinigung für Datenschutz, DVD), International League for Human Rights and the Chaos Computer Club.

Die BigBrotherAwards 2018

Die BigBrotherAwards wurden am Freitag, 20. April 2018 im Stadttheater Bielefeld verliehen.
jetzt das Video der BigBrotherAwards 2018 auf vimeo ansehen

Aktuelles

  • Am 20. April 2018 haben wir die BigBrotherAwards im Stadttheater Bielefeld verliehen. Die Gewinner finden Sie auf unserer Jahresseite.
  • Wir freuen uns auf Nominierungen für die BigBrotherAwards 2019.

Die Preisträger 2018

Arbeitswelt: Soma Analytics

Die Firma Soma Analytics erhält den BigBrotherAward 2018 in der Kategorie Arbeitswelt für ihre Bemühungen, die Gesundheits-App „Kelaa“ und das „Kelaa Dashboard“ bei Personalabteilungen von Firmen unterzubringen. Die App überwacht anhand verschiedener Parameter (z.B. Aufgeregtheit der Stimme beim Telefonieren) den Gesundheits- und Vitalzustand des Nutzers, um der Arbeitgeberin Hinweise auf das seelische Wohlbefinden der Mitarbeitenden zu geben.

PR & Marketing: Konzept der „Smart City“

Das Konzept der „Smart City“ erhält den BigBrotherAward 2018 in der Kategorie PR & Marketing. Mit dem Werbebegriff „Smart City“ versuchen Technik-Firmen, der Kommunalpolitik die „Safe City“ zu verkaufen: eine mit Sensoren gepflasterte, total überwachte, ferngesteuerte und kommerzialisierte Stadt. „Smart Cities“ reduzieren Bürger.innen auf ihre Eigenschaft als Konsument.innen, machen Konsument.innen zu datenliefernden Objekten und unsere Demokratie zu einer privatisierten Dienstleistung.

Technik: Microsoft Deutschland

Microsoft Deutschland, vertreten durch Sabine Bendiek, die Vorsitzende der Geschäftsführung, bekommt den BigBrotherAward 2018 in der Kategorie Technik für die kaum deaktivierbare Telemetrie (das ist die Übermittlung von Diagnose-Daten) in „Windows 10“. Selbst für versierte Nutzer.innen ist es kaum möglich, diese Übermittlung von Daten zu stoppen.

Verwaltung: Cevisio Software und Systeme GmbH

Die Firma Cevisio Software und Systeme GmbH aus Torgau erhält den BigBrotherAward 2018 in der Kategorie Verwaltung für ihre Software Cevisio Quartiersmanagement (QMM), die in Flüchtlingsunterkünften eingesetzt wird. Mit dieser Software werden Bewegungen zum und auf dem Gelände, Essensausgaben, medizinische Checks, Verwandtschaftsverhältnisse, Religions- und „Volkszugehörigkeiten“ und vieles mehr erfasst und gespeichert. Die Daten ermöglichen eine Totalkontrolle der Asylsuchenden.

Verbraucherschutz: Amazon Alexa

Die Firma Amazon erhält den BigBrotherAward 2018 in der Kategorie Verbraucherschutz für ihr neugieriges, vorlautes, neunmalkluges und geschwätziges Lauschangriffdöschen namens Alexa. Dass Alexa Sprachaufnahmen in der Cloud verarbeitet, ist bekannt. Preiswürdig ist, dass diese Abhördaten in der Cloud auch gespeichert werden und man sie auch nach Monaten noch abspielen kann. Damit können Haushaltsmitglieder überwacht werden und es ist unklar, wer noch alles darauf zugreifen kann.

Politik: Fraktionen von CDU und Grünen im Hessischen Landtag

Die Fraktionen von CDU und Bündnis 90/​Die Grünen im Hessischen Landtag erhalten den BigBrotherAward 2018 in der Kategorie Politik für ihr geplantes neues Verfassungsschutzgesetz. Der schwarz-grüne Gesetzentwurf enthält eine gefährliche Anhäufung schwerwiegender Überwachungsbefugnisse, mit denen tief in Grundrechte eingriffen werden kann: Mit sog. Staatstrojanern sollen „verdächtige“ Computer heimlich infiziert und ausgeforscht werden, Mitarbeiter staatlich geförderter Demokratieprojekte sollen geheimdienstlich überprüft und kriminelle V-Leute erstmals per Gesetz von strafrechtlicher Verfolgung freigestellt werden. Alles in allem: ein schwerer Angriff auf Demokratie, Rechtsstaat und Bürgerrechte.

Über die BigBrotherAwards

Die BigBrotherAwards prämieren Datensünder in Wirtschaft und Politik und wurden deshalb von Le Monde „Oscars für Datenkraken“ genannt.  Die BigBrotherAwards sind ein internationales Projekt: In bisher 19 Ländern wurden fragwürdige Praktiken mit diesen Preisen ausgezeichnet.

In Deutschland werden sie organisiert und ausgerichtet von Digitalcourage, Mitveranstalter sind unter anderem die DVD, ILMR und der CCC.