Laudator: Rena Tangens

The BigBrotherAward 2018 in the “PR and Marketing” Category goes to

the idea of a “Smart City”!

The “Smart City” concept espouses the “Safe City”: a city covered in sensors, under total surveillance, remote-controlled and commercialised. “Smart cities” reduce their citizens to mere consumers, change consumers into data sources and our democracy into a privatised service.

A “Smart City” is the perfect combination of the totalitarian police state in George Orwell’s “1984” and the standardised, only seemingly free consumers in Aldous Huxley’s “Brave New World”.

The term “Smart City” is a shining, colourful bag of tricks – it promises to everyone whatever they want to hear: innovation and modern city marketing, efficient government and citizen participation, sustainability and climate protection, security and comfort, perfectly phased traffic lights for cars and always a free parking spot. It all started with IBM in 2008 with their slogan of a “smart planet”, implying that they would be able to make our planet more “intelligent”. Many more companies are now in the business of trying to sell their services to cities, for example Siemens, Microsoft, Cisco, Huawei, Hitachi and Osram.

But what does a “Smart City” really look like?

One example of the great achievements of a “Smart City” is a new type of street light. It doesn’t only light up the dark, it also includes a CCTV camera, pedestrian recognition, number plate scanners, environmental sensors, a microphone with gunshot-detector, and a locator beacon for recording the position. When we imagine all this, combined with WiFi for determining the positions of smartphones, face recognition and motion analysis, it becomes clear that in a city with this kind of technology it will become impossible to walk a single step without being watched.

With today’s technology (…) we can create absolutely safe cities. The new face recognition technology enables governments and private enterprises to recognise and archive all faces, where previously this was limited to registered criminals”, the Turkish surveillance technology provider Ekin gushed in a press release about the “Safe City”. The face recognition system assigns an ID to every facial feature that can be used to identify that person later, even if the name is unknown, and also analyses age, gender and ethnicity.

While the advertising for the “Smart City” in Germany still focuses on sustainability, protection of the environment, efficiency and comfort, technology companies in China, Dubai and Turkey openly discuss what it’s really about: unbroken surveillance and control of the populace.

The combination of CCTV surveillance and artificial intelligence is burgeoning in China. The leading Chinese company for face recognition software, SenseTime, is excited about “the high demand fueled by Smart Cities and surveillance”1.

In the special economic zone of Shenzhen in Southern China, close to Hong Kong, jaywalkers will be identified immediately and pilloried on big monitors also displaying their personal data. A fine is calculated and the employer will be notified. Points will also be deducted from their “social score”, which decides about getting an apartment, a new job or a place at university.

The whole province of Xinjiang in Northwest China has become a real-time laboratory for mass surveillance. DNA and blood type of everyone between the ages of 12 and 65 is being tested, iris scans, finger prints and 3D images are created, all that as part of a so-called “free health check”2. In addition, the Chinese government installed a surveillance system in 2017 that automatically informs the police when a suspect moves more than 300 m away from his apartment or his workplace3. Not just criminals are suspects, but also members of the Muslim minority and people campaigning for human rights.

So you think China is far away?

Well, at the railway station “Südkreuz” in Berlin the federal police has been testing intelligent CCTV surveillance with face recognition since August 2017. This is the beginning. And it does not matter what the results of this “test” will be, Ex-Minister of the Interior Thomas de Mazière already announced at the beginning of this field trial that face recognition shall be introduced nation-wide in as many public places as possible. The new Minister of the Interior confirmed that he shares this view. And what is more: the new Federal Government already made a note in their coalition contract about further development towards “intelligent” CCTV surveillance. Tasteful streetlights with surveillance cameras and sensors can already be admired in “Arcadia”, a gated community in the city of Potsdam, neighbouring Berlin.

Or let us look at our close neighbours, the Netherlands, where “Smart Cities” are springing up like tulips: the city of Enschede wants to know who moves around where, and how often, and to this end is tracking all people carrying a smartphone with active WiFi using its unique MAC address. The Enschede traffic app rewards people for good behaviour: walking, cycling, using public transport: ironically the reward is free parking in the city for a day. The thing you will only find in the fine print: the collected personal movement data are sent to a company called Mobidot.

In Eindhoven the party district Stratumseind has been turned into a surveillance laboratory. There are street lights with WiFi trackers, cameras and microphones intended to detect aggressive behaviour. Starting in spring 2018, orange scent will be sprayed as necessary to soothe people.

Utrecht, finally, spies on the city youth as they move along the streets: how many are there? How old are they? Do they know each other? How do they treat each other? Are they going to cause trouble or not? Since 2014 Utrecht has had 80 “smart” projects in the city, and lost the general overview of what is happening where, because most of these projects are in the hands of private enterprises4.

“Smart City” companies collect data and refuse to inform about it. Often they will not even grant the cities access to their data – because they are trade secrets! One cannot help but get the impression that the companies are trying to pull a fast one on the cities. But neither the citizens nor the press can really check, because the contracts between the cities and the “Smart City” service providers are not publicly available – for competitive reasons.

Yes, “smart” technology is expensive. Where can one get the money from? Cities are attracted by cheap entry offers and national and EU development funds. Once again cities are enticed into surrendering their infrastructure into private hands, just as they did with cross-border leasing in the 1990s5. That is neither clever nor smart, but rather short-sighted and dangerous.

And the threat is larger than just selling off municipal infrastructure. Cities are carelessly selling things that they don't own: the citizens' data – and their privacy, their autonomy and their liberty along with it.

Citizens are not being asked. After all, the tech companies just want to play – who could hold it against them? When it's about innovative tech projects, everything else has to take a back seat: “digital first, concerns second”. The American equivalent is called “permissionless innovation”6. That means that the precautionary principle has been suspended – whoever claims to be innovative, is not bound by petty rules.

It is clear to the companies: Not the service is the real cash cow, but the citizens’ data. Who would have a better understanding of that than Alphabet, Google’s parent company. They bought into Toronto, Canada, to develop the “Waterfront” quarter into a “Smart City”. The name of the project is “Sidewalk Labs”. But Google may not have expected quite how much criticism and specific data protection inquiries would be coming forth from the Canadian public7. Meanwhile, Sidewalk Labs has employed the former Canadian data protection officer, Ann Cavoukian. That’s a smart move. In 2009 Ann Cavoukian developed the concept of “Privacy by Design”. “Smart Cities”, however, rather incorporate “Surveillance by Design”. We are genuinely curious how she is going to bring one into the other without completely turning Google’s business model inside out.

But let’s not be too negative. We really like technology. Let us just assume that hack-proofing the networked systems would not be a problem. Assume that the state would intend to use the total surveillance to our sole benefit. That the tech companies would only ever do good with our data. And let’s picture this friendly “Smart City”, whose sensors follow us at all times, which tell us what to do next, and whose algorithms use our profiles to calculate our desires in real time, before we ourselves are even aware of them. Perfectly phased green traffic lights, always a parking spot, and always the current local nitrogen oxide measurements on my smartphone – doesn’t that sound like a dream come true?

In the land of milk and honey, roasted geese are flying into people’s mouths, ready to be eaten. But the land of milk and honey is not paradise. It satiates, but it does not make one happy. Comfort will make us lazy and stupid. We need those moments of almost tripping over, to train our sense of balance. We need the effort, to be able to appreciate the things we achieved. We need chance, something different, the unknown, surprise, a challenge, to learn and to develop. We as humans need to be able to decide freely, and we need the opportunity to make mistakes. What other way is there to train our “moral muscle”?

This is another reason why we have to stand up against the dictate of technology and techno-paternalism.

A city cannot be “smart”. The people living in it are smart. We have a choice: Do we want to live in a post-democratic world of consumption, where others take the decisions for us, and in which the only possible answer is “Ok”8? Or do we choose Freedom?

Albus Dumbledore says in Harry Potter, Vol. 4:
“[T]here will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”

That time is now.

Congratulations for the BigBrotherAward, “Smart City”!

2 Source: Human Rights Watch, China: Minority Region Collects DNA from Millions – Private Information Gathered by Police, Under Guise of Public Health Programhttps://www.hrw.org/news/2017/12/13/china-minority-region-collects-dna-m...

3 Source: The Guardian: China testing facial-recognition surveillance system in Xinjiang – report https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/jan/18/china-testing-facial-recog...

4 The Guardian: 'Living laboratories': the Dutch cities amassing data on oblivious residents | https://www.theguardian.com/cities/2018/mar/01/smart-cities-data-privacy...

5 zeit.de, 12.3.2009 : Cross-Border-Leasing: Für dumm verkauft: http://www.zeit.de/2009/12/DOS-Cross-Border-Leasing/komplettansicht

6 Adam Thierer: Permissionless Innovation - The Continuing Case for Comprehensive Technological Freedom. Mercatus Center at George Mason University 2016.

7 Torontoist, October 30, 2017: Civic Tech: A list of questions we’d like Sidewalk Labs to answer https://torontoist.com/2017/10/civic-tech-list-questions-wed-like-sidewa...

8 Marc-Uwe Kling: “Qualityland”, ullstein, Berlin, 2017

 

Category: 
Year:

Laudatorin: Rena Tangens

Video ansehen: vimeo.com/265814323/#t=1h1m03s

Der BigBrotherAward in der Kategorie „PR & Marketing“ geht an

das Konzept der „Smart City“!

Das „Smart City“-Konzept propagiert die „Safe City“: die mit Sensoren gepflasterte, total überwachte, ferngesteuerte und kommerzialisierte Stadt. „Smart Cities“ reduzieren Bürger auf ihre Eigenschaft als Konsumenten, machen Konsumenten zu datenliefernden Objekten und unsere Demokratie zu einer privatisierten Dienstleistung.

Eine „Smart City“ ist die perfekte Verbindung des totalitären Überwachungsstaates aus George Orwells „1984“ und den normierten, nur scheinbar freien Konsumenten in Aldous Huxleys „Schöne Neue Welt“.

Der Begriff „Smart City“ ist eine schillernd-bunte Wundertüte – er verspricht allen das, was sie hören wollen: Innovation und modernes Stadtmarketing, effiziente Verwaltung und Bürgerbeteiligung, Nachhaltigkeit und Klimaschutz, Sicherheit und Bequemlichkeit, für Autos grüne Welle und immer einen freier Parkplatz. Angefangen hat das 2008 mit IBM und ihrem Werbeslogan vom „Smarter Planet“, mit dem sie sagen wollten, dass sie unseren Planeten „schlauer“ machen können. Im Business tummeln sich inzwischen eine Menge weiterer Firmen, die ihre Dienstleistungen an Städte verkaufen wollen, zum Beispiel Siemens, Microsoft, Cisco, Huawei, Hitachi und Osram.

Doch wie sieht so eine „Smart City“ konkret aus?

Als große Errungenschaft für eine „Smart City“ wird zum Beispiel ein neuer Typ Straßenlaterne angepriesen. Die leuchtet nicht nur, sondern enthält auch gleich Videoüberwachung, Fußgänger-Erkennung, Kfz-Kennzeichenleser, Umweltsensoren, ein Mikrophon mit Schuss-Detektor und einen Location-Beacon zum Erfassen der Position. Stellen wir uns dies noch kombiniert mit WLAN vor, mit dem die Position von Smartphones ermittelt werden kann, Gesichtserkennung und Bewegungsanalyse, dann ist klar: Wenn diese Technik in unsere Stadt kommt, werden wir keinen Schritt mehr unbeobachtet tun.

Mit der heutigen Technologie (…) können vollkommen sichere Städte gestaltet werden. Die neue Gesichtserkennungstechnologie ermöglicht es Regierungen und privaten Unternehmen, alle Gesichter zu erkennen und zu archivieren, während dies zuvor auf eingetragene Straftäter beschränkt war,“ schwärmt der türkische Überwachungstechnik-Anbieter Ekin in einer Pressemeldung über die „Safe City“. Das Gesichtserkennungssystem ordnet den Merkmalen jedes Gesichts eine ID zu, mit der eine Person später wiedererkannt werden kann, auch wenn ihr Name nicht bekannt ist, und analysiert außerdem Alter, Geschlecht und Ethnie.

Während in Deutschland noch mit Begriffen wie Nachhaltigkeit, Umweltschutz, Effizienz und Bequemlichkeit für die „Smart City“ geworben wird, sprechen die Technologiefirmen in China, Dubai und der Türkei offen aus, um was es geht: Lückenlose Überwachung und Kontrolle der Bevölkerung.

In China boomt die Kombination von Videoüberwachung und Künstlicher Intelligenz. Der chinesische Marktführer für Gesichtserkennungssoftware, SenseTime, freut sich über „die hohe Nachfrage, die von Smart Cities und Überwachung angetrieben wird“1.

In Shenzhen, der südchinesischen Sonderwirtschaftszone in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft zu Hongkong, werden Menschen, die bei Rot über die Straße gehen, identifiziert und sogleich auf großen Monitoren mit Angabe ihrer Personalien an den Pranger gestellt, es wird ein Bußgeld berechnet und der Arbeitgeber benachrichtigt. Außerdem gibt es Punktabzug bei ihrem „Social Score“, der darüber entscheidet, ob sie eine Wohnung, einen Job, einen Studienplatz bekommen.

Die ganze Provinz Xinjiang im Nordwesten Chinas ist inzwischen ein Echtzeit-Labor für Massenüberwachung. Dort werden von der gesamten Bevölkerung zwischen 12 und 65 Jahren DNS und Blutgruppe getestet, Iris-Scans, Fingerabdrücke und 3D-Bilder erstellt – im Rahmen einer sogenannten „kostenlosen Gesundheitsuntersuchung“2. Dazu hat die chinesische Regierung 2017 in Xinjiang ein Überwachungssystem installiert, das die Polizei automatisch informiert, wenn ein Verdächtiger sich mehr als 300 Meter von seiner Wohnung oder seinem Arbeitsplatz entfernt3. Verdächtig sind nicht nur Kriminelle, sondern auch Angehörige der muslimischen Minderheit oder Personen, die sich für Menschenrechte einsetzen.

Sie meinen, China ist weit weg?

Nun, am Bahnhof Südkreuz in Berlin testet die Bundespolizei seit August 2017 intelligente Videoüberwachung mit Gesichtserkennung. Das ist der Anfang. Denn völlig egal, wie der „Test“ ausgeht – Ex-Innenminister Thomas de Mazière hat schon zu Beginn dieses Freilandversuchs betont, dass Gesichtserkennung bundesweit an möglichst vielen öffentlichen Orten eingeführt werden soll. Und der neue Innenminister Horst Seehofer hat längst bestätigt, dass er das auch so sieht. Mehr noch: Die neue Bundesregierung hat in ihrem Koalitionsvertrag bereits eine Weiterentwicklung zu einer „intelligenten“ Videoüberwachung vorgemerkt. Geschmackvolle Straßenlaternen mit Überwachungskameras und Sensoren können Sie übrigens auch bereits in „Arcadia“, einer Gated Community in Potsdam, besichtigen.

Oder schauen wir mal in unser direktes Nachbarland, nach Holland, wo die „Smart Cities“ wie Tulpen aus dem Boden sprießen: Die Stadt Enschede will wissen, wer sich wie oft wo lang bewegt und trackt dafür alle Menschen, die ein Smartphone mit aktiviertem WLAN bei sich tragen, mit Hilfe der eindeutigen MAC-Adresse. Die Traffic-App von Enschede belohnt Menschen für gutes Verhalten – zu Fuß gehen, Fahrrad fahren, öffentliche Verkehrsmittel nutzen – ironischerweise mit einem Tag freiem Parken in der Stadt. Was man erst im Kleingedruckten der App findet: Die gesammelten persönlichen Bewegungsprofile gehen an eine Firma namens Mobidot.

In Eindhoven ist die Partymeile Stratumseind zu einem Überwachungslabor geworden: Dort gibt es Straßenlaternen mit WLAN-Tracking, Kameras und Mikrophonen, mit denen aggressives Verhalten erkannt werden soll. Ab Frühjahr 2018 soll bei Bedarf Orangenduft versprüht werden, um die Menschen zu beruhigen.

Utrecht schließlich überwacht die Jugendlichen der Stadt, wenn sie sich in den Straßen bewegen: Wie viele sind es? Welche Altersgruppe? Kennen sie sich? Wie gehen sie miteinander um? Und machen sie Ärger oder nicht? Seit 2014 hat Utrecht 80 „smarte“ Projekte in der Stadt und den Überblick verloren, was wo läuft, denn das meiste davon liegt in den Händen von Firmen.4

„Smart City“-Firmen sammeln Daten und weigern sich, darüber Auskunft zu geben. Sie geben oft auch den Städten selbst keinen Zugriff auf die Daten – denn die sind Firmengeheimnis! Der Eindruck drängt sich auf, dass sich die Städte von den Firmen über den Tisch ziehen lassen. Doch das können weder Bürgerinnen und Bürger noch Presse überprüfen, denn die Verträge, die die Städte mit den „Smart City“-Dienstleistern abschließen, dürfen zumeist nicht eingesehen werden – aus Wettbewerbsgründen.

Ja, „smarte“ Technik ist teuer. Wo soll das Geld herkommen? Städte lassen sich von günstigen Einstiegsangeboten locken und von den Landes- und EU-Fördermitteln.

Städte werden wieder einmal verlockt, ihre Infrastruktur in kommerzielle Hände abzugeben – wie in den 90er-Jahren beim Cross-Border-Leasing5. Das ist weder clever noch smart, sondern kurzsichtig und gefährlich.

Und es droht mehr als das billige Verscherbeln städtischer Infrastruktur: Städte verkaufen hier leichtfertig etwas, was ihnen gar nicht gehört, nämlich die Daten der Bürgerinnen und Bürger – und damit deren Privatsphäre, deren Autonomie und deren Freiheit.

Die Bürger werden nicht gefragt. Denn die Tech-Firmen wollen doch nur spielen – das kann man denen doch nicht übel nehmen! Bei innovativen Tech-Projekten müssen alle anderen Interessen schweigen: „Digital first, Bedenken second“. Das amerikanische Original heißt „Permissionless Innovation“6, also „Innovation ohne Erlaubnis“. Das bedeutet: Das Vorsorgeprinzip wird außer Kraft gesetzt – wer behauptet, innovativ zu sein, muss sich nicht an lästige Regeln halten.

Den Firmen ist klar: Nicht der Service, sondern die Daten der Bürgerinnen und Bürger sind die eigentliche Cash Cow. Wer wüsste das besser als Alphabet, Googles Mutterfirma. Die hat sich gerade im kanadischen Toronto eingekauft, um das dortige Waterfront Viertel als „Smart City“ zu entwickeln. Name des Projektes: Sidewalk Labs, also „Bürgersteig-Labor“. Google hat sich wohl nicht träumen lassen, wie viel Kritik und konkrete Nachfragen zu Datenschutz aus der kanadischen Bevölkerung kommen würden7. Sidewalk Labs hat mittlerweile die ehemalige Datenschutzbeauftragte von Kanada, Ann Cavoukian, eingestellt. Smart Move. Ann Cavoukian hat 2009 das Konzept der „Privacy by Design“ entwickelt (also so etwas wie „eingebaute Privatsphäre“). „Smart Cities“ aber sind eher „Surveillance by Design“ (eingebaute Überwachung). Wir sind ehrlich gespannt, wie sie das Eine in das Andere bringen will, ohne das Geschäftsmodell von Google komplett umzukrempeln.

Doch wir wollen ja gar nicht so negativ sein. Denn eigentlich mögen wir Technik. Wir nehmen jetzt einfach mal an, dass die Hack-Sicherheit der vernetzten Systeme kein Problem wäre. Dass der Staat mit der Komplett-Überwachung ausschließlich unser Wohl im Auge hätte. Und dass die Tech-Firmen nur Gutes mit unseren Daten tun würden. Und jetzt stellen wir uns diese freundliche „Smart City“ vor, deren Sensoren uns ständig begleiten, die uns sagen, was wir als Nächstes tun sollen und deren Algorithmen aus unserem Profil in Echtzeit unsere Wünsche errechnen, bevor wir sie selber kennen. Immer grüne Welle, immer sofort einen Parkplatz finden und stets die aktuellen Stickoxid-Werte der Umgebung auf meinem Handy – klingt das nicht verlockend?

Im Märchen vom Schlaraffenland fliegen den Menschen die gebratenen Gänse essfertig in den Mund. Aber: Das Schlaraffenland ist nicht das Paradies. Es macht satt, aber nicht glücklich. Bequemlichkeit macht träge und dumm. Wir brauchen das Beinahe-Stolpern, um unseren Gleichgewichtssinn zu trainieren. Wir brauchen die Anstrengung, um uns über das aus eigener Kraft Erreichte zu freuen. Wir brauchen den Zufall, das Andere, das Unbekannte, die Überraschung, die Herausforderung, um zu lernen und uns weiterzuentwickeln. Wir müssen uns als Menschen frei entscheiden können und es muss uns möglich sein, Fehler zu machen. Wie anders sollten wir unseren „Moral-Muskel“ trainieren?

Auch deshalb müssen wir uns wehren gegen die Bevormundung durch Technik und Technik-Paternalismus.

Eine Stadt ist nicht „smart“ – klug sind die Menschen, die darin leben.

Wir haben die Wahl: Wollen wir in einer post-demokratischen Konsumwelt leben, in der andere für uns entscheiden und die einzig mögliche Antwort „ok“ ist?8 Oder wählen wir die Freiheit?

Albus Dumbledore sagt in Harry Potter Band 4:

„Es wird die Zeit kommen, da ihr euch entscheiden müsst zwischen dem, was richtig ist und dem, was bequem ist.“

Die Zeit ist jetzt.

Herzlichen Glückwunsch zum BigBrotherAward, „Smart City“!

2 Quelle: Human Rights Watch, China: Minority Region Collects DNA from Millions – Private Information Gathered by Police, Under Guise of Public Health Programhttps://www.hrw.org/news/2017/12/13/china-minority-region-collects-dna-m...

3 Quelle: The Guardian: China testing facial-recognition surveillance system in Xinjiang – report https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/jan/18/china-testing-facial-recog...

4 The Guardian: ‘Living laboratories’: the Dutch cities amassing data on oblivious residents | https://www.theguardian.com/cities/2018/mar/01/smart-cities-data-privacy...

5 zeit.de, 12.3.2009 : Cross-Border-Leasing: Für dumm verkauft: http://www.zeit.de/2009/12/DOS-Cross-Border-Leasing/komplettansicht

6 Adam Thierer: Permissionless Innovation – The Continuing Case for Comprehensive Technological Freedom. Mercatus Center at George Mason University 2016.

7 Torontoist, October 30, 2017: Civic Tech: A list of questions we’d like Sidewalk Labs to answer https://torontoist.com/2017/10/civic-tech-list-questions-wed-like-sidewa...

8 Siehe Buch von Marc-Uwe Kling: „Qualityland“, ullstein, Berlin 2017

 

Category: 
Year: